Mutual Exclusivity

First I want to thank my dear husband for his kind words. They mean more to me than he could ever know.Second I need to explain a post from a while back…A few weeks ago I was checking my blog (trying to remember my url) when I noticed I had a new comment. I was completely amazed when I read it. My absolute BEST friend growing up had found me via a comment I left on someone else’s blog. We lived next door to each other and practically lived at one another’s houses. We had lost touch over the years when her parents moved away to the country. It’s just the coolest thing to reconnect this way. She is a strong, passionate woman and mother of two adorable kids. Her blog is called As Cozy As Spring and is listed in my blogroll over there on the right. She has inspired me to examine the quality of the time I spend with my kids. Remembering all the goofy things we did together as kids has been a kick, too.So now to the title of my post. It harkens to my mathematical background. Two things are mutually exclusive when they cannot exist at the same time. You see, said friend mentioned above (Jennifer) homeschools her oldest child. It wasn’t something she planned to do having had a great private school upbringing much like my own. Now she loves it and documents much of their activities on her blog. I do not plan to homeschool Belle. There are many reasons why, including: she learns much better from someone else and I don’t feel confident in my own knowlege to be responsible for history and science. Plus I can’t even manage to keep our house clean, much less take time to plan lessons and then feel guilty for not accomplishing them. But that doesn’t mean I can’t teach her all kinds of wonderful things at home. What I’m saying is…sending your children to school and homeschooling are not mutually exclusive. They can exist at the same time. Now that may seem a bit obvious to you, but admittedly I had considered them as such. I guess I felt a little guilty that here I am a “trained educator” and I plan to send my kids to someone else to learn. Especially considering the sacrifices we all have made so that I could stay home with the kids. I mean, I wasn’t willing to send them to a daycare all day so is it different to send them to a school all day? I think so. I am only speaking here for me and my family. This is in no way meant to be a commentary on anyone else’s life. We have all been given different gifts and talents and need to use them accordingly.But then I started reading all these great things Jennifer and some of her blogging friends are doing with their kids and I started questioning myself some. I don’t want to miss out on reading novels together, doing art projects, and I really love the idea of a daily tea to discuss life. So then this morning while washing dishes (from last night-see I’m no good at this house-keeping thing) it occurs to me…I can still do many of those same things with Belle even if I send her to school. We can have a dedicated story time before bed. We can still do crafts together in the afternoons and on weekends. Tea times will be afterschool snacks. It’s liberating to let go of guilt like this. I’m actually looking forward to it now!I have purposefully used only Belle in this discussion because I have no idea what the future holds for Bear and Lamb. I don’t think blanket decisions are good when our kids are so different from one another.So that’s where I stand for now. We’ll see what happens in the future.Thanks again, J! I LOVE my new site, even if it’s not quite on the real site yet 🙂

2 Responses to “Mutual Exclusivity”

  1. I love your new site! I wrote almost this same post. And thank you for your kind words. You are so right that traditional school and homeschool can co-exist. Our decision was first financial (how did my parents afford private school for the 6 of of, I’ll never know!) but then things just fell into place for homeschooling. And my house…so not clean! 🙂

  2. Thanks for coming by and checking out the site!

Leave a Reply

