Happy Birthday to me…

So today is my birthday. 32 years old. Each year passes more quickly than the last. I’m not the type that dreads birthdays. In fact, I greet them with similar excitement as my 5 year old. Well maybe not that much excitement, but you get the idea. There is still snow (now mostly just ice, but snow sounds prettier) on the ground from yesterday. The kids and I had a great time crunching around in it this morning. Lamb fell asleep while we were playing outside so I brought her in to nap. She hasn’t been the best napper lately so I was just hoping to get a little more time with the kids outside before she woke up. Well, she gave me a wonderful birthday present and slept for 3 hours!!! I went in to check on her 3 times to make sure she was still breathing! We will celebrate my birthday tomorrow as J has the day off.I feel a bit reflective today. Nostalgic even. But that good kind of nostalgia where you drift away for a bit remembering the nice times of childhood, and return still smiling thinking of life now. I prefer the glass half-full kind of thinking. I remember this one birthday, when I was turning 15 I guess. I’d gone on a ski trip with my youth group to Red River, NM. We left after school with plans to drive all night, thus maximizing our ski time. We were supposed to return home the day before my birthday. A huge storm blew through Eastern NM and the TX panhandle on our way to Red River. They closed the roads leaving us sleeping in our vans in Dalhart, TX. I don’t know if you’ve ever had the pleasure (note a bit of sarcasm here) of visiting Dalhart, but suffice it so say it is the epitome of dry, flat, boring West Texas. It didn’t help that I wasn’t in the “cool” bus with our youth group leaders, but instead was in the other bus with a well-meaning mother and the terribly boring Curate-that’s sort of like an assistant minister. This is a man who grew up in Dallas, but managed to speak with a mild British accent because it made him sound sooo intelligent…or so I always guessed. He spent most of the night telling us to just be quiet and go to sleep-HA! We extended the trip half a day to make up for the lost time causing me to spend my birthday driving back to TX. Only this time I got to ride in the “cool” van with the cute boy teaching us how to play spades. It was a good birthday indeed!

2 Responses to “Happy Birthday to me…”

  1. HAPPY BIRTHDAY! I hope it is a good one.

  2. Hey Crisanne! Happy Belated Birthday! I’m sorry I missed saying it to you. I’ve been checking the Depechemom website and I didn’t know you were still posting over here! Duh…. Hope to see you this weekend!!!

Leave a Reply

