Update

Here’s a quick update on the going’s on…Lamb’s eczema was doing quite well with nightly water baths, and greasing up with vasoline and cortisone cream. She had her 6 month check-up one week after starting this routine and her skin was mostly normal. The pediatrician said it probably wasn’t allergies since it cleared up so quickly and it was safe to go back to feeding her cereal. We’d only tried rice cereal a few times and I had quit completely once the rash came. So, I fed her rice cereal Wed. and Thurs. and guess what happened Thurs night? A major eczema flare-up! Rice cereal!!! The most basic baby food. The doctor wasn’t in the office on Friday so I’m not-so-patiently waiting until Monday to hear back. I’m hoping she’ll send us to an allergist so I don’t lay awake at night worrying about trying new foods and finding one she’s super allergic to. It would certainly explain her fussiness. Some days I really think I’m going to lose my mind with this one. She’s so unlike our other two that it’s like starting over, but with 2 others demanding my attention. I go back and forth on the crying to sleep stuff. She was doing well last week with crying for 5 minutes, me going in and patting her, crying again for 5 only if she was really fighting. This week, esp since the flare-up, it’s been difficult to soothe her when I go in and I wind up feeling so guilty as I think about her little body fighting something. Motherhood is such a frustrating thing some times. I much prefer to be told what to do and how to do it rather than try to make up the rules as I go along. Our first pediatrician with Belle was so great. He’d tell me exactly what to do with night wakings and feedings without me having to ask. I never feel like I’m a good question asker so I really liked that he told me so much straight out. I haven’t found anyone that’s as good at that as he was. We’ve had great doctors, just not so good at reading my mind I guess!On another note…We went to Old Navy tonight to look around. I found some things to try on and we headed to the super big dressing room that can accomodate the double stroller. It has this large bench which Belle and Bear decided made the perfect stage. They danced and sang their hearts out. Unfortunately for those within a 5 mile radius, they were singing completely different songs. Ok, so Bear was just yelling random sounds to a made up tune…but I call it singing! He’s just started showing an interest in songs and music. Belle was singing the ABC’s and many others completely on her own by this time. Oh well. It’ll come.

One Response to “Update”

  1. Ah the joys of motherhood!!! I love it when they create their own “stages”… sounds like it was a pretty funny (and fun!) time at the Old Navy!
    As far as Chloe… glad that you figured it out! I hope that the Ped has some answers for you soon and will be praying for little Chloe to feel better soon! I can relate with constant crying – I remember those days well… some babies are just more sensitive. Hang in there, this too shall pass!

Leave a Reply

