In which I call her Cranky McFussalot

It may seem to some that I spend most of my time here complaining about my little baby. And in some ways it is probably true. I think the main reason for that is I feel like she has pulled the carpet out from under my feet. I have 3 kids. I should know how to handle a baby by now. But somehow-for reasons we still do not fully understand-I cannot seem to make it any better. She is 6 months old now. This has always been my favorite age when the little personality starts to show through! But things seems to be getting worse instead of better. We tried Oatmeal cereal on Tuesday and the rash returned. I took her to the pediatrician (AGAIN!!) yesterday to see about getting a referral to an allergist. He was willing to do it, though not convinced that we’ll learn anything there. You see, kids aren’t supposed to react to rice cereal-that’s why we give it to babies first. But, my kid does. She also wakes multiple times in the night screaming her head off and contorting her body to the point that I can barely keep hold of her. I’d let her scream it out but she seems to be in such pain. I know the baby tricks of getting you to hold them or take them to your bed, but this is not like that. This is a writhing pain look.Over the years I’ve given little nicknames to my kids which I use here on my blog. However, in honor of Darren and his affinity for creative nicknames, I have started calling her Cranky McFussalot. It truly fits her personality so much better.So we’re still struggling most days. She is napping better and often getting herself to sleep without me patting her back. I’ve been cooking and baking quite a bit lately and I will do my best to update you with some recipes and fun photos.

2 Responses to “In which I call her Cranky McFussalot”

  1. This is just exactly what we went through. I’m so sorry.

  2. Take a deep breath… this too shall pass! You know what is funny? I went through this with #1 until she was 13 months old (and still sometimes at almost 5 yrs, lol) but sometimes I miss those cuddle times when I’d finally get her quiet and I’d be too afraid to put her down (b/c she ALWAYS would wake up again screaming) – so I’d just hold her so that we could both sleep for 2 hours or so. Now, she won’t sit still long enough for me to hold her for 5 mins. You are pulling your hair out now – but time flies – these moments will be over in a blink of an eye… take a deep breath and remember… when she is 16 and asking for a car, you can remind her of all the things that you’ve ALREADY done for her! 😉

Leave a Reply

