In the kitchen (now fixed!)

As stressful as life has been lately, I’ve made sure to take some time to enjoy cooking with Belle and Bear. They love helping make the yummy stuff like cookies and cakes and sometimes they even help make dinner. My parents gave me a great cookbook when they visited recently, Southern Living “Easy Weeknight Favorites”. Everything we’ve tried so far has been tasty and (true to the title) easy! My mom got the book from a Southern Living at Home sales rep, but it looks like you can get it through Amazon as well. I’ve made the Weeknight Enchiladas with quite a few changes so I’ll list my version of the recipe at the end. The Creamy Chicken Casserole was good. I left out the poppy seeds because I don’t ever use them in any other recipes and I can’t justify buying them for one dinner. It was the easiest I’ve tried so far and pretty tasty, though not original at all. The Chuck Roast Barbeque was quite good served on buns alongside mashed potatoes. It’s a crockpot dish which I don’t use super often, but it was nice to know I had the bulk of dinner finished by 10 am!! I did add a little to the sauce at the end because it just tasted like ketchup. I added basic stuff like brown sugar, garlic powder, salt, and pepper and it was much better! The leftovers were even better the next night!As far as baking goes, we made these brownies. I’ve made this recipe a few times before and it is always a winner! This time we used a bunny cookie cutter for Easter and rolled the extra bits in powdered sugar to be eggs. For Belle’s class at school we made sugar cookies. I use my mom’s recipe which she got from her mother (scroll down for the recipe). It makes a nice crunchy cookie that is made even yummier with sprinkles (before baking) or icing (after baking). I often use royal icing but opted for buttercream today. I like to use Ziploc bags: snip the corner, insert the coupler, then add the colored icing. The nice thing about the coupler is it makes it so easy to change tips if you want. Some day I will get up the nerve to try making a cake with fondant, but for now I’m happy with my buttercream frosting and royal icing decorations.Ummm, this post is getting pretty long so I think I’ll put the pictures and recipes in another post.If by chance you read this when I first posted it, it was a little crazy. I’ve fixed it now. Or so I think!

Leave a Reply

