Recipe: Spice Rub

Here’s a recipe I made up tonight. I’ve been creating a lot of my own recipes lately and this is the easiest place to collect them. One of these days I’ll get things in categories and that ought to make it easier on myself when I want to look back at something.

1 tablespoon Onion powder
1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
1 teaspoon salt
3/4 teaspoon paprika
1/8 teaspoon chipotle chile pepper
several grinds black pepper

I combined all the ingredients straight into my pyrex dish and then rolled the meat in the rub. You could certainly multiply it to make more and keep it in a little container. I put this on half a pork loin and then grilled it until it was 160+degrees. I LOVE my digital thermometer. This rub made the pork so yummy. I actually was really dreading eating it-we had the other half night before last fixed differently-it was quite good and I figured that was kind of my last good one. Our grocery store frequently puts pork loins on buy one get one free deals so we’ve had them a little too often.

Anyway…my point is this was surprisingly yummy and was made even better by serving it over white rice (Belle’s favorite). The spices from the pork flavored the rice and it was all quite yummy. We also had red jello in individual bowls.

White rice, red jello…doesn’t get much more American than that does it??

FYI-I was watching TV while posting this so please forgive the rambling.

One Response to “Recipe: Spice Rub”

  1. I’ll have to try that sometime. I love rubs because they are pretty healthy for you. I do like your new sidebar, but I was noticing that your blogroll is missing something:)

Leave a Reply

