Recipe: Vegetable Soup

I know most people like soup when it’s cold. Me, I never liked soup much growing up, so I make it whenever it sounds good. I actually like this one, and it makes great baby food too!

This recipe came from a good friend from medical school days. She’s originally from Czech and makes some amazing food.

4 large carrots
2 white potatoes
1 large sweet potato
1 bunch broccoli
2 TB unsalted butter
2 TB flour
salt and pepper

Wash and peel all vegetables and cut into small pieces. Add cut vegetables to a large pot (dutch oven style). Add water just to cover veggies. Bring to a boil and cook on high until vegetables are soft but not mushy.

While cooking veggies, begin making the roux by melting the butter in a small saute pan. Once melted, add the flour stirring constantly for 2-3 minutes to cook the flour. Set aside from heat.

When the vegetables are ready, add the cooled roux to the soup, mix well and boil for 10-15 minutes. This process will thicken the soup a little.

If you are serving a baby, split the soup in half. Add salt and pepper to taste in adult half and put the second half in the blender. Make it as smooth as you like for your baby. Freeze any unused portions in small containers or ice cube trays and defrost as needed.

I also added a little of the blended soup to ours to make it a little bit thicker.

The recipe called for a few other ingredients that I left out for budget and lack of availability. She suggests adding 2 large roots of parsley and a couple of parsley leaves, 1/2 a root of celery, and a bunch of cauliflower. Feel free to add those things in if it suits you!

I’ll be honest and say that Belle and Little Bear did not love this soup. They both gave it genuine tries, but didn’t go for it. I don’t remember what I gave them instead, but I don’t mind giving them something else when they really do try something new. Little Lamb, on the other hand, loves it! I was able to freeze 5 additional servings for her which made me very glad!!

2 Responses to “Recipe: Vegetable Soup”

  1. Oh this sounds so good. I’ve been hunting for a good vegetable soup recipe.

  2. For some reason I could never get into soup either. I usually only crave it when it is very cold outside.

Leave a Reply

