Halloween Fun!!

We had such a fun halloween here at the depechemom abode. The kids all happily wore their costumes-Little Lamb even left her hood on all night and Little Bear made it almost all night with his ears.

happy-halloween.jpg

Both Belle’s and LB’s schools do Book Character parties instead of straight Halloween parties, so that influenced our decisions. Belle is dressed as a mouse from Lilly and the Purple Plastic Purse. [I scored Belle’s copy through a Scholastic Book Order for under $2!] I’m sad I didn’t get a head to toe shot of her with her red boot covers. I’ll have to dress her in it again sometime, or at least the boots! I made her ears, a crown (which she elected not to wear), the cape, the tail, the purse, and the boot “slipcovers”. It was all super easy sewing which I just made up as I went along. Except the purse, that’s a pattern from the Bend the Rules book. The dress is just a simple knit dress which I purchased and she can wear it all winter and spring.

Little Bear is the puppy dog from Poky Little Puppy, or at least a close facsimile. I made his ears, the tail, the pants (who knew it would be so difficult to find white sweatpants??), and sewed the spots on the shirt and pants. I had a little trouble with the pants at first-stupid pattern directions can be so vague sometimes!! I also discovered it is quite difficult to remove stitches from fleece, esp. since I had the machine set on teeny tiny stitches from all the curves from the ears.

Little Lamb is a jaguar-completely and totally purchased and worn two years prior by her brother. She didn’t seem to mind. Plus it was nice and warm for our cold Halloween night.

J was able to get home at an early hour so we could all eat dinner together and then head out to trick-or-treat. I think I’ll be putting most of the candy away to save for rainy days. That’s about all LB has eaten the past few days-his appetite is completely shot from this cold, but somehow candy always sounds good. The poor kid hasn’t been able to breathe through his nose in over three weeks.

I am so excited to have J home this whole weekend. It’s been several weeks since we’ve had two consecutive days together. I don’t imagine we’ll do anything too spectacular with the kids still recovering from their colds, but just having him around to hug whenever I want is enough!

One Response to “Halloween Fun!!”

  1. So cute! I wish my kids would leave their hats/ears on! Hope your family has a great weekend together!

Leave a Reply

