Recipe Roundup

When money gets extra tight, I tend to avoid the Food Network and other such cooking shows. However, after a while I start having withdrawal. That and I get really tired of thrown together meals with no inspiration. So, last week I indulged in a little TV watching. Here are some good recipes I found. I generally make substitutions for cheaper ingredients (like bacon instead of pancetta), but I’ll give you the original links so you can make your own decisions as far as ingredients.

First, an amazing homemade hot cocoa recipe. This is so delicious and avoids all those chemicals in store-bought stuff. It’s also great in coffee, esp for non-coffee drinkers like me. It does require more mix than you’d expect-about 1/4 c per 8 oz of hot water or coffee, but it’s well worth it.

Here’s a recipe for Chinese Lettuce Wraps. It’s easy to adapt to your own taste/preference for spiciness, etc. The kids love it, too! The first time I used all ground turkey, the second a mix of ground turkey and ground beef because that’s what I had on hand. And remember, “Just don’t pork it down!” Sorry, I’m still laughing about that one.

If you like light, fluffy biscuits, try this recipe. I think the addition of yeast makes them so light and gives an unexpected flavor. I do add more salt than she suggests, because I found them a little lacking the first time. I’m guessing it’s because they are made to be served with fried steak and gravy, which I have not done.

Now for a little Italian food. These stuffed shells were sooo good. I, of course, used bacon not pancetta. I also used half ricotta and half cottage cheese (that way I could get two meals from one container of each and save $). I used light cream and not quite so much cheese. I didn’t find the dish to be heavy at all. It’s a great way to sneak some spinach in the kids or yourself as the case may be.

I’ve got more sites I’d like to link-toys and fun craft stuff, not just food-but Little Lamb’s awake now. I’ll try to get back when I get a chance, but it may not be until tomorrow.

3 Responses to “Recipe Roundup”

  1. Hi
    Came over from Mir’s Blog. Just wondering where in VA you are? My favorite sister just moved from Tx to Va and is having a miserable time of it. She has 3 boys all older than your three, but this is just her older nosy sister stalking bloggers for her!

    haha

    jp

  2. Those stuffed shells sound divine. I printed that one and the hot cocoa. Thanks!

  3. The wraps sound delicious, can’t wait to try them.
    A few weeks ago we went to the Cheescake factory with my in-laws and ate their super yummy vietnamese summer rolls and now I’m on an Asian kick. We ventured to the Asian store in Killeen and have been expirimenting with rice paper, fish sauce, and even a little Asian candy for the boys.
    Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

