What would you do?

When I take the time to gaze about my surroundings, I realize just how easy I have it. One of the poignant, for me, elements of that movie Once is how much we have and simply take for granted. Though it isn’t at all the focus of the movie, I couldn’t help but notice moments like when she says those guys come hang out at her place because she has the only television in the building. Or how she has to raid her daughter’s piggy bank to buy more batteries and then isn’t at all scared by her surroundings on her way back home. I was freaking out for her!

This movie, as well as some other circumstances in our lives right now, has gotten me thinking…what would you do if you knew several of your “creature comforts”* would be gone soon? Would you savor what you have until it’s gone? Or would you try to teach yourself to do without in preparation for the upcoming changes?

I think I’m part of the former group. How about you?

*For me, these comforts are things like a dishwasher, disposal, washer/dryer in my home…etc.

5 Responses to “What would you do?”

  1. I’m in the latter – I have to see this movie!

  2. I would savor it and be thankful for it while I had it, but plan and prepare for doing without. When we go camping, I realize what a luxury running hot water is!

  3. We lost power for 4 days last year during an April snow storm. I thought I was prepared, but wasn’t. It was awful, dreadful, endless. I can’t tell you how appreciative it made me for my coffeemaker!

  4. Great Movie! One of my faves!

    I kwym though! We are thinking about taking off this summer and just camping. Should be interesting!

  5. I can live without creature comforts, but I much prefer not to. I love my washer and dryer. I adore running water and electricity.
    And.. my microwave oven is the best.
    I can cook over an open fire. I know how to chop wood and wash clothes in a bucket with a washboard. I think I’d rather not thankyouverymuch!

    That said, I think I’d savor every moment with my washer…

    xo
    LBC

Leave a Reply

