where does the time go?

We’re in the mad rush to make sure Belle has everything she needs for school.  Her first day is one week from yesterday.  We meet her teacher, Ms. G, tonight.  J was able to  change his schedule so he would be off early enough to make it-he’s in the out patient center this week and they rotate who leaves first, second, third, etc.  He lucked out that today was a slow day at the center so he didn’t even have to go in!  This sort of thing rarely, if ever, happens and he has to work all weekend, so I’m especially happy.

I can’t believe my little girl is about to begin first grade.  It seems like just yesterday we were fretting over Kindergarten, and in a blink it was over.  Heather Bailey was saying the other day how, with kids, the days are long but the years are short.  I have to completely agree.  There are many days when I wonder how in the world I’m going to make it to bedtime, and yet I can’t believe how close we are to Little Lamb’s 2nd and Belle’s 7th birthdays.  

We seriously considered homeschooling Belle this year.  We knew we would be moving, and the neighborhood we hoped to move to didn’t have the best schools.  I read books, did research online, dreamed of field trips.  My heart was really set on homeschooling.  But then we moved to a house in the same school as our old place.  J and I continued talking it over, trying to be sure we were making the best decision for Belle.  The school year ended on such a high note for Belle.  She was excited to be a part of something bigger than her.  She excelled academically further than I’d ever anticipated, mostly due to the large number of aids her school employs.  

 

The reality is Little Lamb is still at a very demanding age.   I’m hoping to do some evening tutoring rather than watching a child every day, but it might not work out.  It simply wouldn’t be right to push Belle’s education aside to care for someone else.  This is where we are right now, and much as I’d like to, I can’t deny that.  I expect that I will question myself many, many times this year.  But I’d do that either way, really.

So, for this year, she’s going back to public school.  I can’t speak for next year, or the year after that.  I’m seriously dreading the increased emphasis on testing that I know is inevitable.  They don’t begin formal state testing until 3rd grade, but I know the preps are coming.  As a former public school teacher, I know just how much testing influences your planning.  There are many things I would have taught, but couldn’t because I had to administer yet another practice test.

On another note, we’ve just given LL her first peanut butter sandwich.  Her response was “Yummy!”  So far, so good.

Here is a note from the little girl herself.  She just had to get her opinion on here:

 bbn  bbbbb bbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbb

Have a nice Thursday!!

5 Responses to “where does the time go?”

  1. I cannot agree with you more about the question of public school. I have bounced back and forth the idea of homeschooling, but inevitably I feel that I might put him in more danger academically because of me than the school would. I have to go with the faith that our children come from a loving and caring home where education is important and a priority. I will also only enroll him in the best school districts in the area…so if ever we are somewhere where this is not possible, I too will be weighing everything over in my mind again…

    Congrats on 1st grade! Wow, they are getting so big! I cannot believe that we have known each other for 6 years!!!

  2. We’re making a switch in school this year and we really, really thought about the decision. And like you, I’m sure we’ll revisit the decision over and over again. I can’t contemplate homeschooling because I simply don’t have the patience for it unfortunately.

    The days are long, but the years are short. I’m definitely going to use that. Congrats on 1st grade.

  3. Homeschooling isn’t for everyone, but I definately see you as having the organization and patience for it. We are on track to try it on a year to year basis so if you decide on it we’ll have to chat. It’s certainly not the thing to do around here. I actually just posted a blog about persecution that had to do with the exact subject. I don’t try to force my opinions on people but I am very passionate about homeschooling for my family. I think it can make people a little uneasy, but my convictions are strong.
    I agree that our children are growing up way too fast.

  4. you could also look into the homeschooling co-ops. We have several in this area. All the homeschooling parents in the area get together and the parents each teach different subjects or are coaches for sports, music, etc…

    I’m in the same boat… can’t believe Pig Will is going into first grade. My how the time flies…

  5. Well, you know I don’t want to! Shannon is hs Jacob this year. I was a bit surprised. I am surprised to hear that you are considering it because of our other conversations about how well our kids respond to other adults.

Leave a Reply

