Drowning

Life has a tight grip around my middle, pulling me ever deeper in the water.  I’ve been in a bit of a funk, mostly because we spent too much last month and I’m playing the never-fun game of catch-up.  You know where you pay bills from last month with this months check, but that doesn’t leave enough behind to cover this months.  So you borrow from the next check to cover this month, leaving something else not paid.  It’s a vicious cycle to be sure.  It’ll all even out before long, I’m sure.  But it’s sucking the life out of me right now.  If I could give up eating it’d be taken care quicker.  Unfortunately, I need that food to keep up with the three kids and husband.

Speaking of J, he’s just started a Neuro ICU month which will certainly kick us all the butt before long.  It’s Q3 which means that he spends every third day and night on call.  Doesn’t it sound healthy to you to stay up all night every third night?  He showed me his paper that he used the other night to keep track of all his patients.  It was completely insane!

[MB-if you could ask your J to send up some good Neuro thoughts for my J, I’m sure he’d appreciate it.]

As it happens, J has tomorrow off so we’re having Belle’s party after the soccer game.  It’ll be a great girlie time with dolly hair styles, pin the purse on the Kit doll game, and making (and eating) pretzels.  I’ve performed somewhat of a miracle in the house today.  Sorting piles, scrubbing floors, filling bags with trash.  It’ll feel so good tomorrow to have it all done.

Unfortunately, I’m not yet finished and I still have a cake to frost tonight.  Back to work for me!  Have a lovely weekend!

5 Responses to “Drowning”

  1. Life sounds hectic and draining for sure. My son was in the NICU for a month. I can’t imagine the emotional toll it would take to work there.

    Happy birthday to Belle. Hope the party goes smoothly.

  2. We’ll say some prayers. Jason was Q2 this past week! Not normal for this rotation. Neuro guy #3 in his “class” quit, so Jason (#1), Paul (#2) are taking up his slack. And Jason is putting in extra time now, because this is going to be his last weekend working until December.

    I can see Belle doing soccer-I bet she likes it.

    Grace is going to try ice skating for 6 weeks and she is very excited. Hopefully, I’ll be able to join her on the ice when she is done (mid December). And Luke is going to try Taekwondo-what a kick-literally. 4 lessons. We have community education classes here that get you bargain rates to try new sports and hobbies!

  3. Oh yeah, we have been in that cycle this summer and such because I haven’t subbed for anyone since May. We were used to that check every month! Oh yeah, and the van mess still hasn’t been taken care of!!!!!!!!! Can you believe that?

  4. Wow, Mom! Keep up the wonderful work! Try to stay sane and keep thinking that one day you will look back on this time and wish it were still around. You can do it!

  5. justanotherstayathomemom Says:

    sooo….have you looked into food stamps?? i am almost positive you would qualify. we would if we had 3 kids…just a thought. otherwise it looks like beans and rice are on the menu (beans, beans, the musical fruit…but i digress..) check out http://www.hillbillyhousewife.com for a 40$ emergency meal plan…it’s great….r works extra at clinic so we can make our bills…otherwise we use the debt card for things we need/want (aka credit card)
    cheers, all is not lost….amber

Leave a Reply

