Holiday Wrap-Up

Today is January 6, Epiphany-a day of celebration for the Wise Men’s arrival to the baby Jesus.  I’d like to make this day a bigger deal with the kids, but as of yet I’ve only managed to do what my family generally did-leave the Christmas decorations up until that day.  I always struggle with how big to make my beliefs to the kids.  I suppose mostly out of fear that if I speak my beliefs loudly, J will want to speak his with equal force.  
Anyhow, as the Christmas season ends and the new year begins, reflection seems a necessary endeavor.  I’ve not been especially committed to my blog for a while now.  It bothers me some that I’m not finding the time to write, but I guess it’s not bothering me enough to do much about it.  What I’m saying is, this in not a post in which I pledge my undying love for all of you and promise to come here more often.  Quite frankly, there are other areas which need more of my attention.  Take for instance, exercise.  I mean I seriously need to make every effort I can to get off my butt and go for a walk already!  Committing to come sit at the computer to write seems contradictory to that, you know?  Though I do love each and every one of you that comes here to read my ramblings!

I do want to share a bit about our Christmas this year, as this may be my only record of it’s existence.  (I’ve got this adorable Christmas scrapbook I purchased a few years ago with the intention of making a two page spread every year…never been used!  I do frustrate myself intensely sometimes.)  As I wrote in my last post, the days leading up to Christmas were a little less relaxing than normal mostly due to the long hours J was working.  In fact, he even had a longer-than-normal-for-Christmas-Eve day on Christmas Eve.  He was third call and didn’t get home until nearly 7, which means that second call and first call were there even later.  Last year first call (the last one to go besides the night team) was home by 4.  Anyhow, despite J feeling like Christmas came in a flash, we had a lovely Christmas day  together as a family.  Santa, being the generous fellow that he is, brought a Wii with a few extra games including the much beloved Batman Lego.  He also brought a playhouse for Little Lamb (the Rose Petal Cottage, if you’ve seen the ads).  Most of us didn’t even change out of our pajamas until dinner time.  Which was a fabulous fondue feast!  Belle declared fondue even better than pizza!  
[For those of you scared of doing fondue with small children, let me pass these tips on to you: We put the cheese and chocolate in small bowls for LL and LB and let them dip that way.  Belle is allowed to dip, but heavily reminded to let it cool some before eating.  As for the meat course, we do the cooking for all three kids.  Those forks get as hot as fire in the oil and you don’t want to chance one of them touching it to their mouth or hand.  J did that once at Simply Fondue and wound up with a nasty blister on his lip-NEVER eat straight off the fondue fork during the meat course; ALWAYS use a fork to remove it from the skewer onto your plate first.]
The next we flew to TX to be with my family.  We took an evening flight, arriving at my parents house after 9 TX time (which, as you know, is 10 VA time!).  My parents wanted to “do Christmas” that night, bringing much glee to my children.  They, too, were extensively generous.  We finally wrangled the kids into bed around 11.  My favorite LL moment happened that night.  We went into my old bedroom, where all the kids sleep.  They’d taken down the crib to make more room for playing since we aren’t there all that often anyway.  Belle and LB immediately jumped into the twin beds while LL set about emptying all the stuffed animals from a baby doll sized bed.  I figured she was looking for the perfect sleeping companion, but asked anyway “What are you doing, LL?”  Her response is something I hope to remember for all my lifetime.  She said, in the cutest southern toddler voice you can imagine “I git in mah bey-ed!”  I literally fell to the floor laughing, and proceeded to call everyone down to the room to retell the story over and over and over again.  J and I still say that sweet little declaration to each other at least once a day!

I’ll have to finish this wrap-up another time.  My time for snuggling with my husband before we head to bed is dwindling and I’ve got a crochet project to work on.  Oh yeah, I taught myself to crochet the other night with a kid’s kit I picked up.  I figured if the directions were simple enough for me to follow, then I’d certainly be able to do it.  It’s SO much easier than knitting, what with only one needle.  I’ve only learned the basic single crochet stitch so far, but I’m hoping to find some sources with more stitches soon.  I’ve just got to finish this first project first!

One Response to “Holiday Wrap-Up”

  1. Mary Beth Says:

    Thanks for rambling! I miss the regularity of knowing all those details. I was thinking about that yesterday, how certain friends are our reality for so long, and then when you leave or they leave, it seems so hard. Then eventually, you find a new reality. Boy do I hate that! Here I am tearing up-oh my goodness, 2 of my friends here would crack up because they say I never cry. Which is mostly true, though you know better than that. Now I am rambling, but I miss my Lubbock life (I think FB got me thinking about that again) and my friend Friederike who left this summer….

    On a positive note, I have made you a craft for your birthday! It’ll be in the mail sometime!

Leave a Reply

